Friday, May 30, 2008

Holy Fuck - Holy Fuck LP (2007)

The band uses live instrumentation and miscellaneous instruments and non-instruments (including a 35 mm film sequencer, toy keyboards and toy phaser guns) to achieve electronic-sounding effects without the use of laptops or programmed backing tracks.[2] According to Pitchfork Media, "The band was formed with the intent of creating the equivalent of modern electronic music without actually using the techniques—looping, splicing, programming and the like—of that music." (

1. Super Inuit
2. Milkshake
3. Frenchy's
4. Lovely Allen
5. The Pulse
6. Royal Gregory
7. Echo Sam
8. Safari
9. Choppers


Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Dan Deacon - Spiderman of the Rings (2007)

Spiderman of the Rings is the most joyful album of 2007. And it wants to share that joy, to seep its DayGlo cartoon giddiness into the darkest recesses of black-clad hipsterdom. Why fold your arms when you can paint the town neon? Why pout when you can bounce? It's impossible to feel like a mature adult listening to Dan Deacon's hyperactive opus. The Woody Woodpecker cackling, the lyrics about "ghosts and cats and pigs and bats with brooms and bats and wigs and rats that play big dogs like queens and kings and everyone plays drums and sings," the entire "Pee-Wee's Playhouse" aesthetic-- this music zeros in on the basest childhood impulses towards things that are bright and shiny. In Deacon's world, the drugs are replaced with Kool-Aid, everyone's friends, everyone likes to dance, and nobody cares how they look. Naïve? Sure. Refreshing? Definitely. (

Listen for the Ludacris sample in 'Trippy Green Skull'.

1. Woody Woodpecker
2. The Crystal Cat
3. Wham City
4. Big Milk
5. Okie Dokie
6. Trippy Green Skull
7. Snake Mistakes
8. Pink Batman
9. Jimmy Joe Roche


Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Aphex Twin - Melodies From Mars (1995)

This is an unreleased album given only to friends and people at Rephlex and Warp record labels in 1995 on cassette. Despite this, Melodies From Mars, as a whole, flows better than any official Aphex Twin release. It's a departure from his early ambient and IDM work. Instead it sounds exactly like its title; happy, synth and bass driven melodies that make you feel like your cruising through space.

All tracks are untitled except for 2. Fingerbib and 8. Logon Rock Witch.


Animal Collective - Water Curses EP (2008)

Released on May 6. The first three tracks were recorded during the 'Strawberry Jam' sessions of 2007. AC's label, Domino Records had this to say about the EP:

"All four tracks have a more stripped down feel than their recent work on Strawbery Jam [sic]. Opener 'Water Curses' mixes mixing carousel and calypso throwing unexpected rhythm up, down and sideways to produce the sound of a smile. And 'Street Flash' is nearly seven minutes of spaced out hollers, electronics and lullabies that sounds like it's made of honey. 'Cobwebs' is equally languid. Weaving itself around a defiant vocal mantra "I’m not going underground" and boosters of Gospel organ sounds like it's imagining some new kind of space church for Al Green to conduct weddings until it slowly fades away into a sticky ether. The EP's final track takes the celestial feel into even more blissed-out states. 'Seal Eyeing' is the moment you realise watching vapour trails melt into the sky is not only the most constructive thing you can do, but the only real option that’s left."

1. Water Curses
2. Street Flash
3. Cobwebs
4. Seal Eyeing


Monday, May 19, 2008

The Field - From Here We Go Sublime (2007)

Really sweet experimental techno album from Swedish producer Axel Willner. Even if you don't like most techno music definitely give this a shot. Its got enough popular appeal to be named #9 on Pitchfork's Top 50 Albums of 2007.

Willner recently released his second full length album, 'Sound of Light - Nordic Light Hotel' this past month. It's a concept album consisting of four tracks titled 'Morning', 'Day', 'Evening', and 'Night', each coming in at around 15 minutes long. Definitely a really awesome and well executed theme for a techno/ambient album. Hopefully I'll be able to post that here soon.

1. Over the Ice
2. A Paw in My Face
3. Good Things End
4. The Little heart Beats So Fast
5. Everday
6. Silent
7. The Deal
8. Sun & Ice
9. Mobilia
10. From Here We Go Sublime


(bottom of page for dl link)

Thursday, May 15, 2008

Animal Collective - House (LIve at Coachella 2008)

new song from AC. Thanks to Sean Mallon for showing me this.

Black Moth Super Rainbow - Dandelion Gum (2007)

"From the plasticky surges of 1970s synth to the mood ring-ish flourishes of flower child flute, from the dream-state vocodered words to the glitch-stepped drum rhythms, every sensation this album evokes seems a bit too large for the real world." (PopMatters)

Made up of members Tobacco, Power Pill Plus, the Seven Fields of Aphelion, Iffernaut and Father Hummingbird, Black Moth Super Rainbow put out one of the best albums of 2007 and definitely the most tripped out. Check out the albums 'Falling Through a Field' and 'Start a People' for more lysergic synths and beats.

1. Forever Heavy
2. Jump Into My Mouth and Breathe
3. Melt Me
4. Lollipopsichord
5. They Live in the Meadow
6. Sun Lips
7. Rollerdisco
8. Neon Syrup for the Cemetary Sister
9. The Afternoon Turns Pink
10. When the Sun Grows on Your Tonguw
11. Spinning Cotton Candy in a Shack
12. Drippy Eye
13. Lost, Picking Flowers in the Woods
14. Caterpillar House
15. Wall of Gum
16. Untitled Roadside Demo
17. 225


Wednesday, May 14, 2008

Four Tet - Remixes (2006)

Four Tet aka Kierna Hebden remixes Madvillian, Radiohead and Aphex Twin and others in his only all-remix album. The original release included a second disc of various artists like Battles, J Dilla and Manitoba remixing Four Tet's work.

Disc One:

1. Lars Hornveth - Tics
2. Radiohead - Skttrbrain
3. Madvillian - Money Folder
4. His Name is Alive - One Year
5. Sia - Breathe Me
6. Aphex Twin - Untitled
7. Madvillian - Great Day
8. Bonobo - Pick Up
9. Rothko - Roads Become Rivers
10. Beth Orton - Carmella
11. Bloc Party - So Here We Are
12. Pole - Heim

Download Part 1
Download Part 2

Panda Bear - Youth Prayer (2004)

Written after the death of Panda Bear's father in 2004.

Nine unnamed tracks


brb lol

Check back for DanK MuZaK soon.